Wednesday, January 03, 2007

CFBA: Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith

Song Stuck on the Brain: Gavroche's song "Little People" from Les Miserables.

Good evening, dear inspector/Lovely evening, my dear./I know this man, my friends/His name's Inspector Javert/So don't believe a word he says/'Cause none of it's true/This only goes to show What little people can do!/And little people know/When little people fight/We may look easy pickings/But we've got some bite/So never kick a dog/Because he's just a pup/We'll fight like twenty armies/And we won't give up/So you'd better run for cover/When the pup grows up!

This week, the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance is posting about Tangerine (Revell, January 2007) by Marilynn Griffith (fellow CFBA member, blogger, writer, and mother of *GULP* seven!)


ABOUT THE BOOK:
Tangerine is the third book in the Shades of Style Novels.

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:Marilynn Griffith is wife to a deacon, mom to a tribe and proof that God gives second chances. Her novels include Made of Honor (Steeple Hill, Jan. 2006), Pink (Revell, Feb. 2006), Jade (Revell, June 2006), and If the Shoe Fits (Revell, 2007). Her other credits include Chicken Soup for the Christian Woman’s Soul, Cup of Comfort Devotionals and her Shades of Style series (Revell, 2006). She lives in Florida with her husband and children. To book speaking engagements or just say hello, email: marilynngriffith@gmail.com.

My Take:
I loved this book. It was my first Marilynn Griffith, and I was impressed with her characters and the emotional depth that was woven into their lives. It was a nice balance of humor, culture, inspiration and drama. Now I have to go back and read Pink and Jade. I'm sure after reading this one, that I'll enjoy the first two equally.

Have you read any of Marilynn's books? Let me know what you thought.

1 comment:

Marilynn said...

Thanks for the review. Love your colors.
mary